Werk #6417: Users may disable notifications by accident after upgrading to 1.5.0

Komponente Notifications
Titel Users may disable notifications by accident after upgrading to 1.5.0
Datum 12.11.2018
Checkmk-Version 1.6.0b1 1.5.0p8
Level Bedeutende Änderung
Klasse Bugfix
Kompatibilität Inkompatibel - Manuelle Interaktion könnte erforderlich sein
Affected Editions
1.6.0b1 Checkmk Raw (CRE), Checkmk Enterprise (CEE), Checkmk MSP (CME)
1.5.0p8 Checkmk Raw (CRE), Checkmk Enterprise (CEE), Checkmk MSP (CME)

Due to a rendering issue in the personal settings the option "Temporarily disable all notifications" is always set in the GUI when a user or admin edits the settings for the first time after an update to version 1.5.0.

If the user or admin then saves the settings and does not enable the notifications, the setting is saved and the user does not receive notifications anymore. If a user profile was not modified after an update, notifications worked as expected. If a profile is saved for the first time after an update, the old configuration file format is transformed to the new format. After that the setting is rendered correctly.

To circumvent any problems please make sure that the notification settings of all users are set properly after the update and that the settings are saved at least once with the correct value.

For a large amount of users it may be tedious to change the settings off all users. In this case it may be more straight forward to edit the file ~/etc/check_mk/conf.d/wato/contacts.mk directly. In the file all values for the key "disable_notifications" have to be modified. The old value "True" has to be replaced by the dictionary "{'disable': True}" and the old value "False" has to be replaced by the empty dictionary "{}".

The issue is fixed in version 1.5.0p8. If you update from 1.4.0 to a version

= 1.5.0p8 you are not affected by this issue.

Zur Liste aller Werks