Werk #22150: omd cleanup: Keep global files when the last version is removed
| Component | Site management | ||
| Title | omd cleanup: Keep global files when the last version is removed | ||
| Date | Sep 16, 2026 | ||
| Level | Trivial Change | ||
| Class | Bug Fix | ||
| Compatibility | Compatible - no manual interaction needed | ||
| Checkmk versions & editions |
|
If no site was installed on the system, omd cleanup used to remove a set of
global files as well: the whole /opt/omd tree, the /omd symlink, the system
Apache configuration zzz_omd.conf, /etc/init.d/omd, /usr/bin/omd and the
omd group.
Since Werk #13201, this step is no longer
performed: omd leaves the default version, and thus the global cleanup step
only takes place under very narrow circumstances. The symlink of the default
version must be broken.
In other words, the step only ran on installations that were already in an inconsistent state, which is exactly where deleting files is not safe. Customer have asked us to remove this step in the past, and due to Werk #13201 they likely assume we already did.
The global cleanup has now been removed entirely. Note that the package manager still takes care of these files once the last version is uninstalled, i.e., via
rpm -e check-mk-EDITION-VERSION
on RPM-based distributions, and via
apt-get purge check-mk-EDITION-VERSION
on Debian-based distributions.